My African Fashionista Self #AfricaDay

Travel, Zimbabwe

May 25th 1963 – The Organisation of African Unity was formed now called the African Union, and today in 2013, 50 years later we commemorate this day.

Very hard to know what being African is about, because while previously Africa was seen as a bleak continent (Yeah surely after colonisation after the slave trade, human and natural resources stripped of us). And now being African is cool and modern and upbeat (Beyonce’s Grown Woman song and dances..hmmm). Yes the African Print and Head Wraps (Doek – Dhuku) being seen as cool, when they were associated with the village and rural life.

When people say statements like “I have spent a great deal amount of time overseas…”, you wonder whether that strengthens their point or weakens their perspective. I grew up listening to Afro Beat and Ezomgido, as my guilty pleasure with the maid. We would dance in front of the telly and watch songs from East, West Africa. And I have been thinking about what this has done to our perspective as I read “Americanah” by my favourite public speaker Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie.

In celebration rather than in retaliation, I am making a top 5 of my favourite African things, with one of them already mentioned Chimamanda Adichie as my love for African Novels.

Novelist: Chimamanda Adichie in Afro Kinky Twist cornrows

Novelist: Chimamanda Adichie in Afro Kinky Twist cornrows

The Scenery

The Mosi Oa Tunya - SMOKE THAT THUNDERS - Victoria Falls Main Falls

The Mosi Oa Tunya – SMOKE THAT THUNDERS – Victoria Falls Main Falls

The warmth of the winter sun and the colours of Summer, this place is beautiful.

The Fashion

David-Tlale2

David Tlale at New York Fashion Week

Farai Simoyi's Dress - Zimbabwean Designer

Farai Simoyi’s Dress – Zimbabwean Designer

Ngai King sister to loti

Ngai King – Maasai Dressing TANZANIA

Bright colours, beads, high fashion and ready to wear. The vibrancy in couture clothing and traditional dressing is diverse in its appearance but always creative.

The People & The Music

image

Me and my sister Patience with Jnr Brown –

Prudence Katomeni - Afro Jazz songstress

Prudence Katomeni – Afro Jazz songstress

 

The people in Africa can be very friendly, me and my sister bought the Heppi promo CDs and the artistes greeted us like they knew us for years.. Amazing. Prudence is also a very nice person and sings beautifully.

The Food

Camilla - The Africa Cafe Victoria Falls Friday Lunch...yummy

Camilla – The Africa Cafe Victoria Falls Friday Lunch…yummy

 

Rice, Steak, Cucumber Relish - Made by Me at Home

Rice, Steak, Cucumber Relish – Made by Me at Home

Alo Alo - Arundel Village Harare - yummy lunch

Alo Alo – Arundel Village Harare – yummy lunch

Celebrate Africa Day your way, our diversity makes us who we are and be proud of who you are how you live and identify yourself. Not caring what the next person thinks of what is “African”, identify yourself with whatever you want!

xoxo

Robin

3 thoughts on “My African Fashionista Self #AfricaDay

  1. Dennis (Happy Hippo) will be so stoked he made it to your top 5 with Camilla and The Africa Cafe!! (We celebrated here yesterday with Robert Matenga’s Mandebvu Band – Started off with Jazz and finished off with Mapurisa!) Happy Africa Day all!

    Like

    1. I loved the Friday lunch at Africa Cafe the time I came to visit Ndau and Elephant Walk, I saw Africa Cafe took a picture of you, I hope to come and jam in Vic Falls sometime – Happy Africa Day to you and send a big wattup to Ndau, Jafuta, Ruoko project

      Like

Leave a comment