Blogging in Zimbabwe – 4 years of lessons!


I have been blogging seriously since APRIL 2012, and a number of people have asked me, HOW DO YOU DO IT?… okay maybe just one…but my point remains. In Zimbabwe blogging is a unique situation, especially given the economy and lack of information, blogs become the only informants of certain industries.

But I will share MY experience here!

A little history:

Check how the featured image is very amateurish header, I used PAINT and a web pic for my image.

WebSelfies
WebSelfies

I did not have a camera or wifi at home, dialup by ZOL and I kept at it with my webcam and PAINT app (I did not have software.). This takes me to my first lesson

Lesson 1: WORK WITH WHATEVER YOU HAVE, PASSION PRECEDES THE TOOLS OF TRADE and START!

However given that I was traumatised from tertiary education at the time, I took a gap figuring my life break, all I had was this blog and dream of being like BECKY BLOOMWOOD in Confessions of a Shopaholic.

meme

So I worked for my mom, worked for my allowance and found a career mentor as I blogged and shopped to blog. I earned $150 which is a lot of money for working for allowance.

Lesson 2: The second lesson I got was to look for opportunities and pitch!

Never be too ashamed to say my blog has 50 likes and 10 subscriber when looking for advertising. I wrote for bloggers for free, 3-mob, ZimFashionista, via ZimFashionista DefZee and at DefZee I learned my true passion was in new media and having my own startup too…but through media.

2012: ZFW with Prudence Katomeni. The cornrows ruined my hairstyle. The seven dollar hairstyle cost me my hairline..ugh
2012: ZFW with Prudence Katomeni. The cornrows ruined my hairstyle. The seven dollar hairstyle cost me my hairline..ugh

Exposure brings new ideas and skills despite the no pay and sheer boredom, never underestimate value of exposure to diff types of people.

Lesson 3: BE PATIENT

Cruising on the Zambezi w
Cruising on the ZambeziĀ 

You will get there some day and achieve your dream with consistency ability to ask for help and pitch knowing you might not get what you asked for, every NO is a lesson not a rejection. Be nice, never be too emotional with industry people, even if they hate you, continue showing love, do not join the beef ever!

IMG_9352

I am still on my journey and the biggest mistake I can make is stopping to do what makes me grow, thinking I have made it!”

IMG_8497

xoxo

robz

7 thoughts on “Blogging in Zimbabwe – 4 years of lessons!

Leave a Reply

