African Wedding Reception


Mr and Mrs King'ori
Mr and Mrs King’ori

Harare, Zimbabwe – My sister got her lobola ceremony on the 15th and celebrated in style at the Wild Geese the next day on the 16th. Her husband is a Maasai by heritage from Arusha and my sister is of Moyo Chirandu totem from the Eastern Highlands Save Valley Buhera region. The idea was then to celebrate the different cultural heritages in a wedding reception that had a Christian devotion and people in their African attire.

Dresses made of Java mostly with mermaid skirts and African Prints by the Zimbabwean relatives and the Maasai wore their elaborate bead jewellery and Scotch-inspired fabrics from their culture.

It was bitter-sweet to think that we gave my sister away to people we had met the day before, but I am also glad that she got the African wedding she always wanted. As my mother’s first daughter to wed I felt like she set the bar really high for the next weddings coming up. Our favourite sister is now married and I wish her the best.

Mom and Faith
Mom and Faith
Ngai King sister to loti
Ngai King sister to loti
The brothers and uncles of the bride
The brothers and uncles of the bride
Patience my other sister
Patience my other sister
Ngai putting her hands up (not sure why)
Ngai putting her hands up (not sure why)
The in-laws
The in-laws
Me with My Sister & Brother in Law, with my two aunties in the background.
Me with My Sister & Brother in Law. In the background is my aunts Tete Conistance to the left and Tete Bertha to the right..

My sisters’ and my makeup was done by Abby Mutangadura and My hair was Brazilian body wave from eCloset263.

Much Love as always

Robyn 🙂

6 thoughts on “African Wedding Reception

Leave a Reply

